
Driver’s License
New Resident – If you have just become a resident 

of Missouri, you must make application for a 
Missouri driver’s license as soon as you 
physically take residence in the state, 
even if you have a valid license from 
another state, unless you are a com-
mercial driver. Within 30 days after 
moving to this state, the holder 
of a commercial driver’s license 
must apply for a commercial 
driver’s license in Missouri.

Non-Resident – If you are not a 
resident of Missouri, and you 
have a valid driver’s license in 
your state, no Missouri driver’s 
license is required. However, no 
non-resident person under the 
age of 16 may operate a motor 
vehicle on Missouri highways.

Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) 
– The CDL is required if you trans-
port hazardous materials that require 
placarding; transport 16 or more pas-
sengers including the driver; drive a vehicle 
with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) or 
registered gross weight of 26,001 or more pounds; 
or drive combination vehicles with a gross combinaton 
weight rating (GCWR) or a registered gross weight of 26,001 or 
more pounds, provided the GVWR of the vehicle(s) being towed 
is in excess of 10,000 pounds.

Motorcycles
Traffic regulations that govern other 
motor vehicles in Missouri also 
apply to motorcycles.  Motorcycle 
riders 26 or older, with proof of 
valid medical insurance, are 
not required to wear a helmet.  
All other riders are required to 
wear a DOT approved helmet.  
Persons operating a motorcycle 
or motortricycle upon the highway 
must possess a valid license with 
a motorcycle endorsement. 

Motor Vehicle 
Inspection

New motor vehicles will be exempt from the state motor 
vehicle safety inspection requirement for the ten-year period, or 
150,000 miles, following their model year of manufacture. This 
exemption does not apply to a prior salvage vehicle immedi-
ately following a rebuilding process or to a motor vehicle that is 
required to undergo an inspection after being involved in an acci-

Speed – The speed is regulated by the speed limit for the tow 
vehicle.

Taillights – Each trailer must display (on the rear) two red tail-
lights, two red reflectors, and a white license plate light. The 
reflectors may be incorporated in the taillights.

Safety Chains (Or An Equivalent Device) – Are 
required in addition to the primary coupling device, except 
for farm equipment, wreckers, fifth-wheel or gooseneck type 
vehicles, and vehicles being towed that are not required to be 
licensed.

Trailer Brakes – Trailer brakes are 
required on trailers coupled by a fifth 
wheel and kingpin, and on trailers 
hauling hazardous materials 
with a gross weight exceeding 
3,000 pounds.

Break-Away Switch – 
No Missouri law require-
ment: However, Fed-
eral Motor Carrier Safety 
Regulations 393.43 para-
graph (d) states every 
trailer required to be 
equipped with brakes shall 
be equipped with brakes 
of such character as to be 
applied automatically and 
promptly upon breakaway from 
the towing vehicle.  Brakes must 
maintain application on the trailer in 
such case for 15 minutes.

Brake Lights And Directional Signals – 
These signals are required if visible signals cannot be given 
by arm and hand; or when the distance from the center of the 
top of the steering post to the left outside limit of the body, 
cab, or load exceeds 24 inches; or when the distance from 
the center of the top of the steering post to the rear limit of the 
body or load exceeds 14 feet. This applies to single vehicles 
or a combination of vehicles.

Dimensions  
Width – Maximum width of a vehicle on all highways is 102 

inches.
Height – All vehicles traveling Missouri interstate and specially 

designated highways (plus a distance of 10 air miles 
therefrom) can have a maximum height of 14 feet; 13 
1/2 feet on all other highways.  Automobile haulers are 
allowed 14 feet on all highways. 

Trailer Regulations
Speed Limits

Speed limits vary dependent upon highway types and may vary 
upon the same highway. Speed limits, however, are posted.  Obey the 

posted limits!

Minimum – The minimum speed limit on interstate highways is 40 mph  No vehicle 
shall be driven at such a slow speed as to impede or block the normal and reasonable 

movement of traffic on any highway.

Basic Rule – Every person operating a motor vehicle on the highways of this state shall 
drive the vehicle in a careful and prudent manner and at a rate of speed so as not to 
endanger the property of another, or the life or limb of any person, and shall exercise 

the highest degree of care. The maximum speed limit allowed is not lawful in situ-
ations that require a slower speed to comply with the Basic Rule (such as ice- or 

snow-covered roads).

Enforcement – State troopers use radar, aircraft, and patrol cars with 
calibrated speedometers to enforce the speed laws of Missouri.  

The maximum fine for speeding is $500 and/or 
six months in the county jail.

Towing 
(Other Than Trailer)

Motor Vehicles – Missouri law requires motor vehicles being 
towed by a towline not be separated more than 15 feet. In ad-

dition to the  towline, a safety chain or device is required. When 
being towed at night, lawful lights must be displayed on the tow 

vehicle and the vehicle being towed.

License Plates – The tow vehicle must display a valid 
license plate. License plates are not required on motor 

vehicles being towed.

Tow Bars – Not required in Missouri, but 
recommended.

Length – The maximum length for a single motor vehicle, 
including load, is 45 feet; recreational vehicles may be 
45 ft.; for truck-tractor and semi-trailer units a maximum 
of 60 feet (except on interstate and designated highways 
plus 10 air miles therefrom, no overall length, but the 
trailer and load cannot exceed 53 feet); and for all other 
combinations of vehicles the maximum length is 65 feet 
on the primary and interstate highways plus 10 air miles 
therefrom, otherwise the maximum length for other com-
binations of vehicles is 55 feet on all other highways.

Permits 
 Reciprocity – Reciprocity permits must be in effect 

prior to entering the state.  For information, 
contact Highway Reciprocity, 1320 Creek 

Trail Drive, Jefferson City, MO 65102.
Fuel – Interstate Fuel Tax permits 

must be in effect prior to entering 
the state.  For information, con-

tact the Missouri Department 
of Revenue, Interstate Motor 
Fuel Tax Division, P.O. Box 
893, Jefferson City, MO 
65102--0893, telephone 
number (573) 751-2611.
Over-Dimension – Over-
dimension permits must be 
in effect prior to moving an 

over-dimension load upon 
Missouri highways. For infor-

mation, contact the Missouri 
Department of Transportation, 

P.O. Box 893, Jefferson City, MO 
65102-0893, telephone number 

1-800-877-8499 or (573) 751-7100. 
Over-dimension load movements are 

restricted to daylight hours only, and movement 
is prohibited on weekends and legal holidays.

Riding In A Trailer Or Camper – Missouri has no re-
striction to prevent persons from riding in a trailer or camper 
while in motion on the highway.

Following Distance – Commercial vehicles must maintain 
a 300-foot interval (pickup trucks are commercial vehicles 
in Missouri).  Passenger vehicles must not follow another 
vehicle more closely than is reasonably safe and prudent.

Weigh Stations – Commercial motor vehicles licensed for 
over 18,000 pounds are required to stop at all weigh stations.

dent. After the ten-year period, biennial motor vehicle inspections 
are required at official inspection stations not more than 60 days 
prior to registering or renewing vehicle license plates. Vehicles 
registered in excess of 24,000 pounds for a period of less than 
12 months also will be exempt. These provisions became effec-
tive January 1, 2010.  

Vehicle 
Registration

If your vehicle has a valid license plate from 
your home state and you have established 
residency in Missouri, you may legally operate 

the vehicle on Missouri roadways for 30 
days before being required to obtain a 

Missouri license plate.



Rest Areas And Roadside Parks – These areas are provided throughout 
Missouri, and you are encouraged to use them. There are no costs or restric-

tions that prohibit units from staying overnight. Camping in a tent or on the 
ground generally is prohibited in these areas.

Riding In An Unenclosed Pickup Bed – It is illegal for anyone under 
the age of 18 to ride in the unenclosed bed of a truck which is licensed 
for a gross weight of less than 12,000 lbs.

Litter Laws – Throwing refuse of any kind, nature, or description 
on the highway is prohibited. The maximum fine is $1,000 for each 
offense. This law is enforced. Please use a litter basket.

Abandoned Vehicle – Any vehicle left unattended on a highway right-
of-way for 24 hours (10 hours in urban areas) may be towed to a place 

for safe keeping. Any vehicle impeding traffic may be towed immediately.

Studded Tires – Metal or carbide studded tires are not permitted April 1 to 
November 1 each year.

Railroad Crossings – Drivers are 
required to stop within 50 feet but 

not less than 15 feet of a railroad 
crossing when an electric or mechani-

cal signal is activated, when a crossing 
gate is lowered, or when a train is approaching.

School Bus Law – When a school bus is stopped loading or unloading children, other 
motorists following or approaching the bus are required to stop. Those approach-
ing a stopped school bus on the other side of a four-lane divided highway are not 
required to stop.

Emergency Vehicle – Upon the approach of an emergency vehicle (from any direction) 
displaying red or blue lights and sounding a siren, motorists must drive as far to 
the right of the highway as possible and stop. They must remain stopped until the 
emergency vehicle has passed. Upon approaching a stationary vehicle displaying 
red or red and blue lights, or a stationary vehicle displaying lighted amber or amber 
and white lights, the driver of every very motor vehicle shall proceed with caution and 
yield the right-of-way, if possible with due regard to safety and traffic conditions, by making 
a lane change into a lane not adjacent to that of the stationary vehicle, if on a roadway having 
at least four lanes with not less than two lanes proceeding in the same direction as the 
approaching vehicle; or proceed with caution and reduce the speed of the vehicle, 
maintaining a safe speed for road conditions, if changing lanes would be unsafe 
or impossible.

Signaling – A signal by an arm and hand or electrical turn signal must be used 
when changing lanes or direction.

Passing On The Right – Passing on the right is permitted on four-lane high-
ways. In no event shall the vehicle be driven off the main travel portion 
of the highway to pass another vehicle on the right. The shoulders of 
the highway may not be used to pass another vehicle.

Turns – Motorists are permitted to make a right turn on a red signal at an 
intersection after making a complete stop (except where signs prohibit-
ing such a turn are posted).

Outboard Motors – Visitors are not required to register outboard motors when 
vacationing in Missouri if the vacation time is not more than 30 days.

Fusees, Flares, Or Fire Extinguishers – These items are required for commercial 
vehicles.

Bicycles – Are subject to most traffic regulations applicable to motor vehicles. Additional 
laws specify lights and reflectors if ridden after dark.  Helmet use not required, but recom-
mended.

Missouri State Highway Patrol 
Emergency Highway Assistance

You may report highway emergencies 24 hours a day, 
every day, from anywhere in Missouri by dialing:

 1-800-525-5555 or cellular *55 
 

Your call will be routed to the nearest 
Highway Patrol troop headquarters.

  
This telephone number is for 

EMERGENCIES only.  

 1-800-525-5555 or cellular *55 
to report:

Traffic Crashes, Medical Emergencies, Intoxicated or 
Drugged Drivers, Reckless Driving, Vehicle Problems,

Hazardous Material Spills, Criminal Activity

The emergency TDD number is 1-800-525-7559.

Missouri Automated Road 
Condition Report

The Missouri State Highway Patrol in cooperation with 
the Missouri Department of Transportation has provided 
an automated road condition report hotline for motorists to 
call for the latest road condition on major highways across 
the state. Call 1-888-275-6636 to hear the Missouri Road 
Condition Report.

For the Missouri State Highway Patrol troop headquar-
ters nearest you, consult your local phone directory.
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The information in this brochure has been 
prepared to assist residents and nonresident 
tourists of Missouri to become familiar with 

some of the traffic laws and regulations of our 
state. It is not intended to cover all aspects 
of the movement of motor vehicles on the 

highway.  It is intended, however, to answer 
many of the general questions about operat-

ing a motor vehicle in Missouri.

Missouri highways are patrolled by troop-
ers of the Missouri State Highway Patrol. 

The primary responsibilities of the Highway 
Patrol are to promote safety upon Missouri 

roadways and to enforce the traffic laws. The 
troopers are there to serve and protect you. 
We invite you to contact them for information 

or assistance.

Financial 
Responsibility Law

If you are involved in a traffic crash in which a person is killed or 
injured, or in which property damage (including your own) exceeds $500 
and one of the motorists does not have insurance and a settlement has 
NOT been agreed to by all parties, you are required to file a Missouri Motor 
Vehicle Accident Report Form (DOR-1140) with the Missouri Department 
of Revenue within 60 days from the date of the crash. This is a different 
report than the one you file with the police. If your state has a similar law, 
and you fail to make the report, then your driving privilege may be sus-

pended in your home state.  Usually the report form DOR-1140 can 
be obtained from the police officer investigating the crash. The 

completed report should be mailed to: Missouri Department 
of Revenue, Driver’s License Bureau, P.O. Box 200, 

Jefferson City, MO 65105.

Seat Belts
Missouri law requires the operator and front seat 

occupants of all passenger vehicles to wear a properly 
adjusted and fastened seat belt. Children ages four to seven 
who weigh at least 40 pounds, but less than 80 pounds, and 
are less than 4’9” tall, must be secured in a child passenger 
restraint system or a booster seat appropriate for that child.  
Children ages eight to 16 who are at least 80 pounds or are 
taller than 4’9” tall must be secured by a vehicle safety belt. 

Children under four years of age must be protected by a 
child passenger restraint system (child safety seat) 

when transported in any motor vehicle other 
than a public carrier for hire.

Miscellaneous Information 

Traffic 
Crashes

Missouri law requires the owner or operator 
of a motor vehicle involved in a traffic crash in 
this state on a roadway or parking lot open to 

the public to report the crash to the nearest 
police agency.  Leaving the scene of 

a motor vehicle crash can be a 
felony violation.

       www.facebook.com/motrooper             mshptrooper     
        @MSHPTrooperGHQ   

www.statepatrol.dps.mo.gov       mshppied@mshp.dps.mo.gov


