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The cost associated with a DWI conviction 
can be overwhelming. The following are agencies 
and people who must be dealt with and require a 
fee for the service provided:

33 Towing
33 Bondsman
33 Attorney
33 Court (fine & court costs)
33 Substance Abuse Traffic Offender   Pro-
gram (SATOP)

33 Insurance
33 License Reinstatement

For the Missouri State Highway Patrol troop 
headquarters nearest you, consult your local 
phone directory.
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Emergency Assistance
1-800-525-5555 or cellular *55

Road Conditions
1-888-275-6636

Sex Offender Registry
1-888-SOR-MSHP
(1-888-767-6747)

Effects Of Alcohol 
When Driving

Reaction Time – Impairment of reaction 
time occurs at low BAC levels.

Judgment – That’s why so many drivers make 
the wrong decision to drive after drinking. 
Judgment is the first thing to be affected by 
alcohol.

Tracking – Weaving from one side of the road 
to the other; inability to follow the path of the 
road.

Vision – When drinking, an individual can lose 
his or her ability to perceive details on an ob-
ject in motion; loss of control of eye 
movement.

Comprehension – Perceiving 
hazards and/or processing informa-
tion while driving is impaired when 
alcohol is involved. 

Coordination – Motor skills of in-
dividuals with alcohol in their blood 
are lessened.

Road Test Performance – 
Functions of driving such as steer-
ing, braking, speed control, etc., 
are impaired when under the influ-
ence of alcohol. 

Emergency Response – While 
drivers with alcohol in their blood 
may handle some driving skills, 
ability to respond to emergency 
situations is limited.

Financial Burden 
Of DWI Conviction

Average minimum 
total cost of above 

services = 

$ 3,000.



One simple statement says it all – if you drink 
and drive in Missouri, you will pay. Missouri 
is not going to tolerate people being injured or 
killed by drunk drivers. “ABUSE AND LOSE! ZERO 
TOLERANCE!”  This is how Missouri feels about 
under-age drinking and getting behind the wheel 
of a motor vehicle after you have been drinking. 
The law is strict and to the point – DO NOT DRINK 
AND DRIVE.

If a law enforcement officer has reason to 
suspect the driver of a motor vehicle is driving 
after using drugs or alcohol, field sobriety tests 
may be administered. Based upon the drivers 
performance of these tests, the officer will de-
termine whether or not to arrest the driver for 
driving while intoxicated (DWI). The driver will be 
required to submit to either a breath or blood test 
to determine their blood alcohol concentration 
(BAC). If the driver is arrested, the following will 
happen:
•	 Searched, handcuffed, taken to jail, photo-

graphed, fingerprinted, and bonded.
•	 Immediate suspension of driver’s license 

for 30 days if test results are .08 percent or 
more; must give license to arresting officer.

•	 If convicted of DWI, eight points will be as-
sessed against your license.

•	 License will be revoked for one year if you 
have accumulated a total of:
•	 	12 points in a 12-month period.
•	 	18 points in 24-month period.
•	 	24 points in 36-month period.

•	 12 points are assessed for a second and 
subsequent conviction of an alcohol-related 
offense.

•	 Any level of impairment may result in charg-
es of DWI. BAC level of .08 percent or above, 
however, is prima facie evidence of intoxica-
tion under Missouri law.

•	 A refusal to take a test will automatically 
result in your license being revoked for one 
year.

In 2005, a new law addressing the enhance-
ment section for DWI-related crimes was altered 
with the addition of two new enhancement catego-
ries:
•	 An ‘aggravated offender’ is: a person who has 

pleaded guilty to or been found guilty of three 
or more intoxication-related traffic offens-
es or a person who has pleaded guilty of or 
been found guilty of involuntary manslaugh-
ter, murder in the second degree where the 
underlying felony is an intoxication-related 
offense; assault in the second degree, or as-
sault of a law enforcement officer in the sec-
ond degree. 

An aggravated offender is a class C felon, 
and must serve a minimum of 60 days in jail 
before being eligible for probation or parole.

•	 A ‘chronic offender’ is:
a) a person who has pleaded guilty to or 

been found guilty of four or more intoxi-
cation-related traffic offenses;

b) a person who has pleaded guilty to or 
been found guilty of, on two or more 
separate occasions, involuntary man-
slaughter, or assault in the second de-
gree, or assault of a law enforcement 
officer in the second degree;

c) a person who has pleaded guilty to or 
been found guilty of involuntary man-
slaughter, assault in the second degree, 
or assault of a law enforcement officer 
in the second degree, and in addition, 
two or more intoxication-related of-
fenses.

A chronic offender is a class B felon and 
must serve two years in prison before being 
eligible for probation or parole.

Persons under the age of 21 will lose their 
driver’s license for 90 days (if under age 16, they 
must wait until they are 17 to receive a drivers li-
cense) if found guilty of:

•	 Any alcohol-related traffic offense, such as 
DWI or driving with excessive blood-alcohol 
content.

•	 Possession or use of alcohol while operating 
a motor vehicle (open container).

•	 Possession or use of a controlled substance 
(illegal drug).

•	 Modification, alteration, or misrepresenta-
tion of a drivers license.

•	 Being a repeat offender of pos-
session or use of alcohol by an 
individual under the age of 18.

•	 Individuals convicted of any state 
law or county or municipal ordi-
nance involving alcohol or sub-
stance possession and/or use while 
driving a motor vehicle, shall have 
their drivers license suspended for a 
period of 90 days. Any second or subsequent 
offense shall result in revocation of drivers 
license for one year.

•	 The offender is required to attend a Substance 
Abuse Traffic Offender Program (SATOP) prior 
to reinstatement of his or her drivers license. 
SATOP programs can be viewed on their web-
site: www.dmh.mo.gov/ada/satop.

It is illegal in Missouri for anyone under the 
age of 21 to purchase, attempt to purchase, pos-
sess, or consume alcoholic beverages. There-
fore, Missouri has a “zero tolerance” for underage 
drinkers. Anyone under the age of 21 driving with a 

Drinking & Driving 
Missouri’s DWI Law

According to Missouri Revised 
Statutes Chapter 311:

•	 Any person under the age of 21 years, 
who purchases or attempts to purchase, or 
has in his or her possession, any intoxicating 
liquor, or who is visibly intoxicated, or has 
a detectable blood alcohol content of more 
than two-hundredths of one percent or more 
by weight of alcohol in such person’s blood is 
guilty of a misdemeanor.

For purposes of prosecution involving an ille-
gal sale or transfer of intoxicating liquor to a per-
son under 21 years of age, a manufacturer sealed 
container describing there is intoxicating liquor 
therein need not be opened or the contents therein 
tested to verify that there is intoxicating liquor in 
such container. The alleged violator may allege 
that there was not intoxicating liquor in such con-
tainer, but the burden of proof of such allegation 
is on such person, as it shall be presumed that 
such sealed container describing that there is 
intoxicating liquor therein contains intoxicating 
liquor.

Abuse & Lose

Missouri’s “Zero 
Tolerance” Law

Purchase Or 
Possession 
By A Minor

BAC of .02 percent or higher will have his/her driv-
ers license suspended for 30 days. Additionally, 
he or she must:

•	 Successfully complete a Substance Abuse 
Traffic Offender Program (SATOP). An offend-
er is required to pay the cost of attending the 
class plus an additional $249 fee to the De-
partment of Mental Health.

•	 Pay a $45 reinstatement fee to regain one’s 
license.


