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In order to make your travels into and through our 
state safer and less complicated, the Missouri State 
Highway Patrol is pleased to provide this informational 
booklet which summarizes many of the rules and 
regulations concerning the operation of commercial 
motor vehicles and trailers. This guide is furnished as 
a service to you and is intended to provide valuable 
information concerning trucking in Missouri.

INTRODUCTION
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By excelling as a CRIMINAL JUSTICE LEADER
in the delivery of quality services,
THE MISSOURI STATE HIGHWAY PATROL
will ensure Missouri is a

 place to live or visit.

OUR VISION:OUR VISION:
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SECTIONS 301.010, 302.010 RSMO

Chauffeur: an operator who operates a motor vehicle in the transportation 
of persons or property and who receives compensation for such services 
in wages, salary, commission, or fare; or who as owner or employee 
operates a motor vehicle carrying passengers or property for hire; or 
who regularly operates a commercial motor vehicle of another person in 
the course of or as an incident to his employment, but whose principal 
occupation is not the operating of such motor vehicle .

Commercial Motor Vehicle: one designed or regularly used for carrying 
freight and merchandise or more than eight passengers

Local Commercial Motor Vehicle: one whose operations are confined to 
a municipality and that area extending not more than 50 miles therefrom; 
or a commercial motor vehicle whose property-carrying operations are 
confined to the transportation of property owned by any person who 
is the owner or operator of such vehicle to and from a farm owned by 
such person or under his control by virtue of a landlord and tenant lease; 
provided that any such property transported to any such farm is for use 
in the operations of such farm .

Owner: includes any person, firm, corporation, or association who 
holds legal title of a vehicle or in the event a vehicle is the subject of 
an agreement for the conditional sale or lease thereof with the right of 
purchase upon performance of the conditions stated in the agreement 
and with an immediate right of possession vested in the conditional 
vendee or lessee, or in the event a mortgagor of a vehicle is entitled to 
possession, then such conditional vendee or lessee or mortgagor shall 
be deemed the owner for the purpose of this act .

Tractor, truck tractor, or truck-tractor: a self-propelled motor vehicle 
designed for drawing other vehicles, but not for the carriage of any 
load when operating independently . When attached to a semitrailer, it 
supports a part of the weight thereof .

Truck: a motor vehicle designed, used, or maintained for the transportation 
of property .

DEFINITIONS
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Speed Law — Section 304.010 RSMo
The speed limit on Missouri’s rural interstates and freeways is 70 

mph; on the rural expressways, 65 mph; and on the interstate highways, 
freeways, or expressways within the urbanized areas of this state, 60 mph .  
All other roads and highways in this state not located in an urbanized 
area have a speed limit of 60 mph . This shall not include any state two-
lane road identified by letter . Such lettered roads shall not exceed 55 
mph unless set at a higher speed as established by the Department of 
Transportation, except that no speed limit shall be set higher than 60 
mph . The minimum speed limit is 40 mph on divided highways designed 
as part of the federal interstate system, except when slower speed is 
required for safety because of weather or other special conditions .

Distance Between Vehicles
Section 304.017 RSMo — The driver of a vehicle shall not follow another 
vehicle more closely than is reasonably safe and prudent, so as to allow 
sufficient space between each such vehicle or combination of vehicles 
as to enable any other vehicle to overtake or pass such vehicles in safety .

Section 304.044 RSMo — The driver of any truck or bus shall not follow 
within 300 feet of another such vehicle, except when passing .

Commercial Motor Vehicle To Stop At Weigh Stations — 
Section 304.235 RSMo

All commercial motor vehicles, except those licensed for 18,000 
pounds or less, are required to stop at an official weigh station . Others 
may be required to stop if directed by a peace officer or commercial 
vehicle officer/inspector .

Markings — Section 301.330 RSMo
Each commercial vehicle used for commercial purposes or vehicles 

registered for more than 36,000 pounds gross weight are required to be 
marked with the name of the owner and the address (city and state) from 
which the vehicle is operated . If the vehicle bears a ‘local’ license the word 
local must be marked on the vehicle as well . The required marking must 
be displayed in a conspicuous place on the vehicle .

GENERAL REGULATIONS 
AND SAFETY LAWS
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Requirements For Vehicles Hauling Hazardous 
Materials — Section 307.177 RSMo

It is unlawful for any person to operate any bus, truck, truck-tractor 
and trailer combination, or other commercial motor vehicle and trailer 
upon any highway of this state, whether intrastate transportation or 
interstate transportation, unless such transportation is conducted in 
accordance with the hazardous material regulations established by the 
United States Department of Transportation pursuant to Title 49, Code of 
Federal Regulations, as such regulations have been and may periodically 
be amended . 

For further information concerning Department of Transportation 
regulations contact:

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
3219 Emerald Lane, Suite 500

Jefferson City, MO 65109
(573) 636-3246

Missouri does not require additional licensing or permitting for the 
transportation of hazardous material in addition to that required by the 
USDOT . Missouri does not have designated hazardous material routes . 
Missouri does require transporters of certain hazardous wastes to be 
licensed through the MoDOT — Motor Carrier Services  . For further 
information regarding the transportation of hazardous waste contact:

MoDOT — Motor Carrier Services 
P .O . Box 270

Jefferson City, MO 65109
(573) 751-3358

Motor Vehicle Safety Inspection — Sections 307.350, 
307.170, 307.400
Section 307.350 RSMo — A Missouri approval certificate must 
accompany an application for annual registration or transfer of 
registration for commercial motor vehicles . Exception: Commercial 
motor vehicles if subject to Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations and 
are proportionately registered with MoDOT — Motor Carrier Services . 
The inspection must be within 60 days prior to application for annual 
registration or transfer of registration .
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Section 307.170 RSMo — Applies to all commercial motor vehicles 
and trailers: When being operated on any highway of this state shall be 
equipped with adequate and proper brakes, lighting equipment, signaling 
devices, steering mechanisms, horns, mirrors, windshield wipers, tires, 
wheels, exhaust system, glazing, air pollution control devices, fuel tank, 
and any other safety equipment required by the state in such condition so 
as to obtain a certificate and approval as required by the provisions 
of Section 307.360 RSMo.

Section 307.400 RSMo — It is unlawful for any person to operate 
any commercial motor vehicle as defined in Title 49, Code of Federal 
Regulations, Part 390 .5, either singly or in combination with a trailer, as 
defined in Title 49, Code of Federal Regulations, Part 390 .5, unless such 
vehicles are equipped and operated as required by Parts 390 through 
397, Title 49, Code of Federal Regulations, as such regulations have been 
and may periodically be amended, whether intrastate transportation or 
interstate transportation . 

The following commercial vehicles are exempt from Section 307 .400 
RSMo when operated wholly within the state of Missouri: 
     
 a . Commercial motor vehicle licensed for a gross weight of 60,000 

pounds or less when used exclusively for the transportation of 
solid waste; and 

 b . Commercial motor vehicle registered for a gross weight 
of 42,000 pounds or less when the license plate has been 
designated for farm use by an “F” decal . (See MAP-21 
Exemptions below .)

         Parts 390 through 397, Title 49, Code of Federal Regulations, 
are not applicable to property carrying commercial motor 
vehicles which have a gross vehicle weight rating or gross 
combination Weight Rating of 26,000 pounds or less . This 
exception does not extend to vehicles designed to transport 
16 or more passengers including the driver or to vehicles 
transporting hazardous materials .

 Commercial vehicles subject to the federal motor carrier safety 
regulations are to be subjected to an annual inspection per Part 396 .17 
Title 49 Code of Federal Regulations . The inspection criteria can be found 
in Appendix G of those federal regulations . 
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MAP-21 Exemptions
 A covered farm vehicle is defined as a motor vehicle, including 

an articulated motor vehicle that: Is traveling in the state in which the 
vehicle is registered or another state; and is operated by a farm owner/
operator, a ranch owner/operator, or an employee/family member of 
the farm/ranch owner . Covered farm vehicles transport agricultural 
commodities, livestock, machinery, or supplies to or from a farm/ranch . 
These vehicles display a special license plate (“F” tab in Missouri) to 
allow for identification of the vehicle as a farm vehicle by law enforcement 
personnel . The covered farm vehicle has a gross weight rating or gross 
vehicle weight, whichever is greater, of 26,001 pounds or less (interstate 
commerce in U .S .) . 

49 Code Of Federal Regulations
Additional information specific to MAP-21 exemptions for covered 

farm vehicles can be found:

1. 49 CFR Part 382: Controlled Substance & Alcohol Use & 
Testing .

2. 49 CPF Part 383: Commercial Driver’s License Standards; 
Requirement & Penalties .

3. 49 CFR Part 391, Subpart E: Physical Qualification & 
Examinations . (Note: The rest of Part 391 still applies to the 
operation of a covered farm vehicle .)

4. 49 CFR Part 395: Hours of Service .
5. 49 CFR Part 396: Inspection, Repair, & Maintenance .

Missouri Is A Member Of CVSA
Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance

Commercial vehicles are subject to safety inspections either on the 
highway or at weigh station facilities .

Safety Responsibility Law — Section 303.040
The state of Missouri has a safety responsibility law . If you are involved 

in a traffic crash upon a public street or highway in which any person 
is killed or injured; or in which damage to the property of any person, 
including yourself, is more than $500 and where there is an UNINSURED 
motorist involved and a settlement has NOT been agreed to by all parties, 
you are required to file a traffic crash report within 60 days from the date 
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of the traffic crash . If your state has a similar law and you fail to make the 
report then your driving privilege may be suspended in your home state . 
The form for preparing the report may generally be obtained from the 
officer investigating the traffic crash . It should be completed and sent 
to:  Safety Responsibility Unit, Missouri Department of Revenue, P .O . Box 
200, Jefferson City, MO  65102 .

Proof of financial responsibility is required to be carried by the 
operator of a vehicle except commercial vehicles subject to USDOT or 
Motor Carrier services regulations . 
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Size Limitations (Without Special Permits) — 
Sections 304.170, 304.190 RSMo
Interstate and designated highways plus 10 miles therefrom.

Width: 102 inches  
Height: 14 feet
 15 feet — When operated exclusively within commercial zones 

as defined in Section 304 .190 RSMo . 
Length: 45 feet — Single vehicles including load .
 45 feet — Single buses (additional one foot authorized per front 

and rear for safety bumpers) .
 28 feet — Twin or double trailer configurations are restricted 

to two 28-foot trailers, including load, when operated in a 
truck-tractor, semi-trailer, and trailer combination . There is 
no restriction on overall length . 

 28 1/2 feet — Twin or double trailer configurations may utilize 
two 28-1/2 foot trailers, including load, if the semi-trailers 
were in actual use on December 1, 1982, and operated in 
a truck-tractor, semi-trailer, and trailer combination . These 
combinations are restricted to a 65 feet overall length . 

 53 feet — A truck-tractor (including those equipped with a 
dromedary) and a semi-trailer combination are restricted 
to a 53-foot trailer including load . There is no overall length 
restriction . 

 65 feet — A truck-trailer and semi-trailer is restricted to 65 feet 
overall length including load . (Such as a pickup, camping 
trailer, and boat .)

 60 feet — Articulated buses (additional 1 foot authorized per 
front and rear for safety bumpers, and not including bicycle 
storage racks which may extend over the safety bumper 
by up to five feet when in the down position transporting a 
bicycle .)

 80 feet — Automobile and boat transporters are restricted to 
80 feet overall excluding allowable overhangs . Allowable 
overhangs are limited to four feet to the front of the cab 
and six feet to the rear of the trailer .  

 82 feet — Towaway trailer transport combination consisting 
of a trailer transporter towing unit and two trailers or 

SIZE & WEIGHT LIMITATIONS

13
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semitrailers, with a total weight that does not exceed 
twenty-six thousand pounds; and in which the trailers or 
semitrailers carry no property and constitute inventory 
property of a manufacturer, distributer, or dealer of such 
trailers or semitrailers . 

 97 feet —Driveaway saddle mount combinations are limited to 97 
feet overall length and shall not consist of more than three 
saddle mounts and one full mount per combination .

Vehicles Operated On Primary Highways Or 10 Miles Therefrom 
(Only applies when more than 10 miles from an interstate or 
designated highway).

Width:   102 inches — All vehicles and combinations  
Height: 13 feet 6 inches — All combinations other than automobile and 

motor vehicle transporters .
 14 feet — Automobile and motor vehicle transporters .
 15 feet — When operated exclusively within commercial zones 

as defined in Section 304 .190 RSMo
Length: 45 feet —Single vehicles including load .
 45 feet —Single buses . (Additional one foot allowed per front 

and rear for safety bumpers .)
 60 feet —Truck-tractor (including those equipped with a 

dromedary) and semi-trailer combination are restricted to 
60 feet overall length .

 55 feet —A truck-trailer or semi-trailer is restricted to 55 feet 
overall length including load . (Such as a pickup, camping 
trailer, and boat .)

 65 feet —Automobile and boat transporters are restricted to 
65 feet overall length excluding allowable overhangs . 
Allowable overhangs are limited to three feet to the front 
of the cab and four feet to the rear of the trailer . 

 65 feet —Driveaway saddle mount combinations are limited to 
65 feet overall length and shall not consist of more than 
three saddle mounts and one full mount per combination .

 65 feet —A truck-tractor, semi-trailer combination (doubles) is 
restricted to 65 feet overall length . 
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All Other Routes

Width:   102 inches — All vehicles and combinations .
Height: 13 feet 6 inches — All combinations other than automobile and 

motor vehicle transporters . 
 14 feet — Automobile and motor vehicle transporters .
 15 feet — When operating exclusively within a commercial zone 

as defined in section 304 .190 RSMo 
Length: 45 feet — Single vehicle including load . 
 45 feet — Single buses . (Additional foot allowed per front and 

rear safety bumper .)
 55 feet — Truck-trailer or any other combination not specifically 

addressed . 
 55 feet — Truck and semi-trailer (excluding those designed to 

transport boats or motor vehicles) .
 60 feet — Truck-tractor and semi-trailer combination . Includes 

truck-tractor with dromedary and truck-tractor (or truck) 
designed to carry motor vehicles and does not include 
allowable over hangs . Allowable overhangs are limited to 
three feet to the front of the cab and four feet to the rear of 
the trailer . 

 65 feet — Truck-tractor, semi-trailer, and trailer combination 
(doubles) . 

WEIGHT LIMITATIONS (Without Special Permit) — 
Section 304.180 RSMo
     Missouri highways are designed to support established maximum 
weights, and excess weight can cause damage to the highways . To 
protect Missouri’s highways, specific weight limitations have been 
placed on commercial vehicles . The State Highway and Transportation 
Commission has established weight restrictions according to the types 
of highways and bridges . The designated highways and bridge limits 
are illustrated on an official map published by the Missouri Department 
of Transportation .* By law a vehicle or combination of vehicles can be 
overweight in any of the following ways:

1.  It Can Have Too Much Weight On A Single Axle.
 a . Maximum weight allowed on the interstate highways — 20,000 pounds .
 b . Maximum weight allowed on non-interstate highways — 22,000 pounds .
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 c . Maximum weight allowed in a commercial zone defined in Section 
304 .190 RSMo — 22,400 pounds .

 d . Maximum weight allowed on a steering axle is limited by the above 
(a, b, or c), or by the weight rating marked on the steering axle tires, 
whichever is less . 

2.  It Can Have Too Much Weight On A Tandem Axle. 

A tandem axle is defined as a group of two or more axles, arranged 
one behind the other, the distance between the extremes is more than 40 
inches and not more than 96 inches apart .

 a . Maximum weight allowed on interstate highways — 34,000 
pounds .

 b . Maximum weight allowed on non-interstate highways — 36,000 
pounds . 

3.  It Can Have Too Much Weight On Any Groups Of Two Or More 
Axles On Interstate, Primary, and Other Highways Designated 
By The State Highway And Transportation Commission. This 
is determined by the federal bridge formula, a table of distances 
between axles, the number of axles in the group, and the maximum 
gross weight the group of axles can legally carry .

Vehicles operating on highways other than the interstate highway 
system may exceed the weight limitations in the table an amount not 
to exceed 2,000 pounds . However, total gross weight shall not exceed 
80,000 pounds . 
 
4.  It Can Have Too Much Gross Weight With Load Imposed On 

Bridges Posted With Signs Marked As Follows, “Weight Limit 20 
Tons.” The amount of weight limit varies depending on the structural 
capability of any particular bridge . Other restrictions may also apply, 
such as speed and lane use restrictions . Also, the weight limit and 
other restrictions may only apply to certain vehicles, such as triple 
axle trailers in combination with truck or tractor . (Posted bridges 
appear on Missouri Department of Transportation maps that depict 
the sections of the state highway system on which various weight, 
length, and width limits are authorized .*

* Official MoDOT Highway Maps showing highways on which vehicles of 
various lengths, widths, and weights may travel as well as posted bridges 

16
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for lower weight limits may be obtained from the Missouri Department of 
Transportation, Special Permits Section, P .O . Box 270, Jefferson City, MO, 
65109; telephone (573) 751-2871 .
**The measurement of width and length will NOT include safety and energy 
conservation devices, such as rear view mirrors, turn signal lamps, marker 
lamps, steps, and handholds for entry and exit, flexible fender extensions, 
mudflaps, and splash and spray suppressant devices, load-induced tire 
bulge, refrigeration units or air compressors and other such devices that 
do not by their design or use have the capability to carry cargo .

17
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4
5
6
7
8

More than 8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
32
33
34
35
36
37
38
39
40
41
42
43
44
45
46
47
48
49
50
51
52
53
54
55
56
57

50,000
50,500
51,500
52,000
52,500
53,500
54,000
54,500
55,500
56,000
56,500
57,500
58,000
58,500
59,500
60,000
60,500
61,500
62,000
62,500
63,500
64,000
64,500
65,500
66,000
66,500
67,500
68,000
68,500
69,500
70,000
70,500
71,500
72,000
72,500
73,500
74,000
74,500
75,500
76,000
76,500
77,500
78,000
78,500
79,500
80,000

Distance in feet between the Distance in feet between the 
extremes of any group of two or extremes of any group of two or 

more consecutive axles measured more consecutive axles measured 
to the nearest foot except where to the nearest foot except where 

indicated otherwiseindicated otherwise
34,000
34,000
34,000
34,000
34,000
38,000
39,000
40,000

34,000
42,000
42,500
43,500
44,000
45,000
45,500
46,500
47,000
48,000
48,500
49,500
50,000
51,000
51,500
52,500
53,000
54,000
54,500
55,500
56,000
57,000
57,500
58,500
59,000
60,000

58,000
58,500
59,000
60,000
60,500
61,000
61,500
62,500
63,000
63,500
64,000
65,000
65,500
66,000
66,500
67,500
68,000
68,500
69,000
70,000
70,500
71,000
72,000
72,500
73,000
73,500
74,000
75,000
75,500
76,000
76,500
77,500
78,000
78,500
79,000
80,000

*
*
*

66,000
66,500
67,000
68,000
68,500
69,000
69,500
70,000
71,000
71,500
72,000
72,500
73,000
74,000
74,500
75,000
75,500
76,000
77,000
77,500
78,000
78,500
79,000
80,000

Maximum load in pounds carried
on any group of two or more

consecutive axles

3 axles2 axles 4 axles 5 axles 6 axles

Except that two consecutive sets 
of tandem axles may carry a load 
of 34,000 pounds each, providing 
the overall distance between 
the first and last axles of such 
consecutive sets of tandem axles 
is 36 feet or more.

*

Legal Limits On Interstate, Primary, & Other 
Designated Highways (Except In Commercial Zones)
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Feet 2 Axles 3 Axles 4 Axles 5 Axles 6 Axles
4          37,400 
5          37,400 
6          37,400 
7          37,400 
8          37,400          37,400 

More than 8          41,800          46,200 
9         42,900          46,750 
10         44,000         47,850 
11          48,400 
12          49,500          55,000 
13          50,050          55,550 
14        51,150          56,650 
15         51,700         57,200 
16          52,800         57,750          63,800 
17          53,350          58,850          64,350 
18          54,450          59,400          64,900 
19          55,000          59,950          66,000 
20         56,100         61,050          66,550          72,600 
21          56,650         61,600        67,100          73,150 
22         57,750         62,150         67,650          73,700 
23          58,300          63,250         68,750          74,800 
24          59,400          63,800          69,300          75,350 
25          59,950          64,350          69,850          75,900 
26         61,050          65,450          70,400          76,450 
27         61,600          66,000         71,500          77,000 
28         62,700          66,550          72,050          78,100 
29          63,250         67,650          72,600          78,650 
30          64,350          68,200         73,150          79,200 
31          64,900         68,750          74,250          79,750 
32          66,000          69,850          74,800          80,300 
33          70,400          75,350          81,400 
34          70,950          75,900          81,950 
35          72,050         77,000          82,500 
36          72,600         77,550          83,050 
37         73,150         78,100          83,600 
38          74,250          79,200          84,700 
39          74,800         79,750          85,250 
40          75,350          80,300          85,800 
41          76,450          80,850          86,350 
42          77,000         81,400          86,900 
43          77,550          82,500          88,000 
44          78,650          83,050 
45          79,200          83,600 
46          79,750         84,150 
47          80,850          85,250 
48         81,400          85,800 
49         81,950          86,350 
50          83,050          86,900 
51          83,600          88,000 
52         84,150 
53          85,250 
54          85,800 
55          86,350 
56         87,450 
57          88,000 

Maximum Allowable Weight For Grain & 
Grain Co-Products On Missouri Highways 

(Excluding Interstates) – Section 304.180 RSMo

Any vehicle or combination of vehicles hauling grain or grain co-products during times 
of harvest may be as much as, but not exceeding, 10 percent over the maximum weight 
limitation allowable while operating on highways other than the interstate highway sys-
tem . (See chart page 18 .) The provisions of Section 304 .180 shall not apply to vehicles 
operated and operating on the interstate .

Maximum load (in pounds) carried on any  group of 2 or more consecutive axles.

Distance (in feet) 
between the 
extremes of any 
group of 2 or more 
consecutive axles 
measured to the 
nearest for except 
where indicated 
otherwise .
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Internal

Example Of Overall & Internal Measurements 
To Determine Gross Weight.

Example: 24’ wheelbase from axle two to four allows by table (three 
axle column) 54,000 lbs . 

Overall

Internal

Overall

Ten consecutive groups         
of tandem axles

36' allows 68,000 lbs .

Overall wheelbase of 51'
allows 80,000 lbs .

5 Axle Combination
Truck Tractor-SemiTrailer

Internal
Internal

Overall

4 Axle Combination
Truck Tractor-Semi Trailer

3 Axle Truck
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Overall

InternalInternal
Internal

Internal

10-foot wheelbase from axle four to five allows 40,000 pounds . These two 
examples for gross weight purposes would be determined by the internal 
wheelbase from axle two to five . Take the total wheelbase measurement 
from axle two to five . This would be the critical measurement as 34 feet 
from axle two to five applied to the four axle column would allow a gross 
weight of 64,500 pounds .

The distance measured between the centers of the axles is to the 
nearest foot . A distance of 39’-6” is to be measured as 40 feet .

Trailer

5 Axle Combination

Split Axle 
Semi-Trailer

Truck Tractor

Internal Internal
Overall

Internal
Internal

5 Axle 
Combination

Truck
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An additional 2,000 pounds may be added to the table of weights when 
operating off the interstate system except that the 80,000 pound maximum 
gross weight cannot be exceeded . The additional 2,000 pounds does not 
apply on the interstate system of highways .

The second paragraph should read “Vehicles equipped with 
functional idle reduction equipment will be granted up to 550 pounds 
gross weight or axle weight to cover the weight of such equipment .

4 Axle Combination

Overall

Internal

In
te
rn
al

In
te
rn
al

Internal
Internal

Internal
Internal

Internal

Overall

6 Axle Combination

Truck Tractor Split Axle
Semi-Trailer
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Section 304.180 RSMo — The total gross weight of any vehicle or 
combination of vehicles hauling livestock may be as much as, but shall 
not exceed, 85,500 pounds while operating on highways other than the 
interstate highway system .

The total gross weight of any vehicle or combination of vehicles 
hauling milk from a farm to a processing facility may be as much as, but 
shall not exceed, 85,500 pounds while operating on highways other than 
the interstate system . The provisions of this subsection shall not apply to 
vehicles operated and operating on the interstate highway system, unless 
an oversize/overweight permit is obtained through MoDOT .

The total gross weight of any vehicle or combination of vehicles hauling 
grain and grain co-products during times of harvest may be as much as, 
but shall not exceed, 10 percent over the maximum weight limits allowed 
for axles and axle groups .

Natural Gas Vehicles- Vehicles fueled primarily by natural gas may be 
operated upon the public highways of this state in excess of the vehicle 
weight limits set forth in this section by an amount that is equal to the 
difference between the weight of the vehicle attributable to the natural 
gas tank and fueling system carried by that vehicle and the weight of a 
comparable diesel tank and fueling system .  In no event, shall the maximum 
gross vehicle weight of the vehicle operating with a natural gas engine 
exceed 82,000 pounds .  
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For registration purposes, in lieu of credentials, a 72-hour Reciprocity 
Trip Permit is necessary for vehicles coming into Missouri that are based 
in another jurisdiction . The permit must be secured prior to entry and be in 
the vehicle while in the state . Refund or credit cannot be given for unused 
permits . Care should be exercised when completing the permits as erasures 
and/or strikeovers render them invalid and not acceptable to enforcement 
officials . Such permits are not returnable . If a valid trip permit is not used 
in lieu of credentials, the driver of the vehicle is subject to enforcement 
action and purchase of the trip permit is required before being eligible to 
proceed . The permit allows interstate and intrastate movement .

The Reciprocity Trip Permit costs $10 and may be ordered in advance 
from the Missouri Department of Transportation — Motor Carrier Services 
office . Motor Carrier Services can be reached by calling (800) 877-8499 
or visiting their website at www .modot .org/mcs . Trip permits are available 
via the following Transmitter Services:

A-1 Over-the-Road Permits — (800) 577-3764
Permit America — (866) 573-7648
Comdata (Permit RCS Solutions) — 800-749-7107

There is a service charge in addition to the $10 fee unless obtained 
directly from the MoDOT — Motor Carriers Services .

     
The Fuel ($10), Division of Transportation ($5), and Reciprocity 

Permits ($10) are of the same duration — 72 hours .

Combined permits for Special Fuel, Reciprocity, and Missouri Division 
of Transportation may be secured from the MoDOT — Motor Carriers 
Services at a cost of $25 . A combined Fuel and Reciprocity permit may 
be obtained from the MoDOT — Motor Carriers Services for $20, or any 
of the above listed transmitter services .

    Listed below are the names and addresses of carrier-related 
agencies from which to secure information:

Enforcement Information 
Missouri State Highway Patrol
Commercial Vehicle Enforcement Division
P .O . Box 568
Jefferson City, Missouri 65102
Telephone (573) 526-6128

Motor Fuel License/IFTA
MoDOT Motor Carrier Services
P .O . Box 270
Jefferson City, MO 65109
Telephone (573) 751-6433
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Reciprocity — Sections 301.271, 301.277 RSMo
Missouri is a member of the International Registration Plan (IRP) . The 

original receipt and/or cab card must accompany unit .
Under the IRP, an apportionable vehicle is defined as a vehicle that is 

operated in more than one jurisdiction and:

 1 . having two axles and weighs more or is licensed for more than 26,000 
pounds; or

 2 . having three or more axles, regardless of weight; or
 3 . is used in combination with a gross vehicle weight or licensed weight 

in excess of 26,000 pounds . 

Reciprocity Trip Permit — Section 301.265 RSMo
In lieu of reciprocal privileges a $10, 72-hour reciprocity trip permit must 

be in full force and effect when the vehicle enters or commences its trip in 
Missouri .

Operators who fail to obtain such permit before the vehicle enters or 
commences its trip in this state are subject to arrest and must obtain such 
permit before proceeding .

Trip permits can be obtained from the MoDOT — Motor Carrier Services, 
P .O . Box 270, Jefferson City, MO 65109, Phone (573) 751-6433, transmitter 
services or at the first official weigh station when entering Missouri on an 
interstate highway . Trip permits should be purchased prior to crossing the 
scales .

Hunter’s Permit — Section 301.266 RSMo
A Hunter’s Permit authorizes the operation of a truck and trailer, while 

empty, upon cancellation of a lease agreement .

The following criteria must be met:
 1 . Application must be made to the MoDOT — Motor Carrier Services 

upon cancellation of lease .
 2 . The vehicle must be proportionally registered with MoDOT — Motor 

Carrier Services .
 3 . Applicant must submit acceptable proof to MoDOT — Motor Carrier 

Services that the plate and cab card were returned to the registrant .
 4 . Such permit shall authorize the operation of the vehicle on the 

highways of this state and the highways of all member jurisdictions 
of the International Registration Plan .

 5 . The permit is vehicle specific .
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 6 . The fee is $25 for 30 days for truck and trailer at the unladen weight .
 7 . Fuel tax requirements still apply .
Motor Fuel User License/IFTA Tax — 
Sections 142.617, 142.803, 142.908 RSMo

Missouri is a member of the International Fuel Tax Agreement (IFTA) .
An “Interstate Motor Fuel User” is subject to the IFTA licensing and 

reporting requirements when operating in interstate commerce .
The term “motor fuel” includes vehicles propelled by gasoline, diesel 

fuel, kerosene, and blended fuel . 

A “qualified motor vehicle” under the IFTA agreement is defined as:
 1 . having two axles and a gross vehicle weight or registered weight  

exceeding 26,000 pounds (11,797 kilograms); or
 2 . having three or more axles regardless of weight; or 
 3 . is used in combination, when the weight of such combination 

exceeds 26,000 pounds (11,797 kilograms) gross vehicle weight or 
registered gross vehicle weight .

The term “qualified motor vehicle” does not include a recreational 
vehicle used for nonbusiness purposes .

Occasional interstate trip operators may purchase a $10, 72-hour trip 
permit in lieu of being licensed, bonded, and reporting fuel tax . The license 
or trip permit must accompany the vehicle when entering the state .

Operators who fail to obtain such permit before the vehicle enters or 
commences its trip in this state are subject to arrest and must obtain such 
permit before proceeding . 

Trip permits may be purchased from MoDOT — Motor Carrier Services, 
or from the trip permit services listed on page 22 . Trip permits may also 
be purchased at the first official weigh station when entering Missouri 
on an interstate highway . Permits should be purchased prior to crossing 
the scales .

Oversize & Weight Permits
The Missouri Department of Transportation chief engineer issues 

permits for vehicles with non-reducible loads exceeding maximum 
dimensions or weights . If you wish to purchase a permit or obtain other 
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overweight and oversize information, please contact: MoDOT — Motor 
Carrier Services, Special Permit Section, 830 MoDOT Drive, Jefferson City, 
MO 65109, or call 1-866-831-6277 .

Special Permit Regulations — No movement is allowed on the following 
holidays: New Year’s Day (January 1); Memorial Day (last Monday in May); 
Independence Day (July 4); Labor Day (first Monday in September); 
Thanksgiving Day (fourth Thursday in November); and Christmas Day 
(December 25) .

     
 1 . In the event a holiday falls on Saturday, the restriction will apply 

to the preceding Friday . If a holiday falls on Sunday, the restriction 
will apply to the following Monday . On all holidays the restriction 
will begin at 12 p .m . on the day preceding the holiday or the holiday 
weekend period .

 2 . All permit offices are closed on the above holidays and also closed 
on Martin Luther King Day (third Monday in January), Lincoln’s 
Birthday (February 12), Washington’s Birthday (third Monday in 
February), Truman’s Birthday (May 8), Veteran’s Day (November 
11), Columbus Day (second Monday in October), Juneteenth, and 
on any date designated by the governor as a holiday . However, 
movement under permit is allowed on these days .

     
Movements under permit must be with licensed vehicles . Blanket 

permits are available .
To obtain other overweight and oversize information: MoDOT —Motor 

Carrier Services, Special Permit Section, 830 MoDOT Drive, Jefferson City, 
MO 65109, Telephone: 1-866-831-6277 .

Maintenance Trip Permit — Section 301.175 RSMo
‘Maintenance trip permit,’ as used in this section, means a trip permit 

issued as a supplement to a local commercial license for the sole purpose 
of allowing the operation of a vehicle licensed as a local commercial vehicle 
while empty to or from a place of repair or maintenance within a period 
of 10 days from the time of issuance .

Maintenance trip permits are available for purchase for a cost of $5 
from Department of Revenue branch and fee offices .

Transportation Of Hazardous Waste — Section 260.395 
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RSMo
It shall be unlawful for any person to transport hazardous waste in 

this state without first obtaining a hazardous waste transporter license .
Highway transportation license and certificate must accompany vehicle . 

Inquiries should be directed to the MoDOT—Motor Carrier Services, P .O . 
Box 270, Jefferson City, MO 65109, Phone (573) 751-6433 .

Missouri Department Of Revenue LP/Electric Decal — 
Section 142.869 RSMo

All motor vehicles and commercial motor vehicles powered by alter-

native fuels such as LP gas, natural gas, or electric motor must purchase and 
attach to the lower right-hand corner of the front windshield of the vehicle, 
a Missouri Department of Revenue Alternative Fuel decal . A non-resident 
may purchase a temporary alternative fuel decal from the Department of 
Revenue in lieu of the annual decal to travel through the state . This temporary 
decal is valid for 15 days for a fee of $8 . 

The “Alternative Fuel Decal” requirement does not apply to an interstate 
motor fuel user that displays proper IFTA credentials . 
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Registration — Section 301.030 RSMo
Deadline for registration of regular commercial motor vehicles, trailers, 

semitrailers, or driveaway vehicles is the last day of February . Permanent 
apportioned license plates have no grace period after their expiration date .

Farm License Decal — Section 301.030 RSMo
A registrant requesting a farm decal for a qualifying farm vehicle 

must display the “F” decal on the local license plate as prescribed by the 
Department of Revenue . The use of this “local license” displaying the “F” 
decal is described as follows: 

 1 . Operations are confined solely to the transportation of property 
owned by the owner or operator of such vehicle to or from a farm 
owned or leased by such person; and 

 2 . Provided that any such property transported to any such farm is 
used for the operation of such farm .

 3 . Such vehicles may be operated outside the 50-mile radius normally 
restricted to a regular “local license .”

Computation Of Fees — Sections 301.067-301.070 RSMo
The fees of commercial vehicles shall be based on the gross weight 

of the vehicle or combination of vehicles and the maximum load to be 
carried at any one time during the licensed period . Fees for tractors used in 
combination with trailers are based on the gross weight of the combination 
of vehicles and the load . Trailer fees are $7 .50 . Trailers with a fifth wheel and 
king pin assembly or a trailer converter dolly may be registered for three 
years for $22 .50, or a permanent nontransferable registration for $52 .50 .

Registration Fees — Sections 301.057, 301.058 RSMo
Property carrying commercial motor vehicles having gross weight of: 

6,000 pounds and under  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . $25 .50
6,001 pounds to 9,000 pounds  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . $38 .00
9,001 pounds to 12,000 pounds  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . $38 .00
12,001 pounds to 18,000 pounds  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . $63 .00
18,001 pounds to 24,000 pounds  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . $100 .50
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24,001 pounds to 26,000 pounds  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . $127 .00
26,001 pounds to 30,000 pounds  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . $180 .00
30,001 pounds to 36,000 pounds   .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . $275 .50
36,001 pounds to 42,000 pounds   .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . $413 .00
42,001 pounds to 48,000 pounds   .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . $550 .50
48,001 pounds to 54,000 pounds   .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . $688 .00
54,001 pounds to 60,010 pounds  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . $825 .50
60,011 pounds to 66,000 pounds  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . $1,100 .50
66,001 pounds to 73,280 pounds  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . $1,375 .50
73,281 pounds to 78,000 pounds  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . $1,650 .50
Over 78,000 pounds  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . $1,719 .50

30
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Missouri Bus & Truck Law For Hire Carriers
Common and contract carriers transporting persons or property for 

hire or compensation must obtain operating authority from MoDOT — 
Motor Carrier Services .

Exemptions — Section 390.030 RSMo

• Cotton, cottonseed and cottonseed hulls
• Freight-carrying motor vehicles duly registered and licensed in 

conformity with the provisions of Chapter 301 RSMo, for a gross weight 
of 60,000 pounds or less .

• Motor vehicles of a carrying capacity of not to exceed five persons or 
one ton of freight, when operated under contract with the federal 
government for carrying the United States Mail and when on a trip 
provided in the contract .

• Motor vehicles, commonly known as tow trucks or wreckers, designed 
and exclusively used in the business of towing or otherwise rendering 
assistance to abandoned, disabled, or wrecked vehicles .

• Motor vehicles while being used under contract or otherwise for the 
state or a civil subdivision thereof .

• Motor vehicles while being used solely by a group of employees to 
commute to and from their place or places of employment, and the 
motor vehicle must be driven by a member of the group .

• Motor vehicles transporting stocker or feeder livestock, farm or dairy 
products from farm to market, agricultural limestone or fertilizers to 
farms, or property from farm to farm .

• Private Carrier —  Transportation, other than common or contract, 
incidental to or in furtherance of commercial enterprise, other than 
transportation . 

• Raw forest products from farm to market with one intermediate stop 
for intervening processing .

• School buses
• Street railroads
• Taxicabs
• Vehicles operating interstate exclusively within a municipality and its 

commercial zone .
• Vehicles operating wholly within a municipality or its commercial 

MISSOURI LAW 
FOR HIRE CARRIERS
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zone, except carriers of passengers in counties of more than 300,000 
persons where the operation is not within the same municipality and 
to carriers of commodities in bulk, tank, or hopper type vehicles and 
in a commercial zone .

• Vehicles used solely in distribution of newspapers from publisher to 
subscriber or distributor .

Nothing contained in this section shall be deemed to exempt the vehicles 
of driveaway operations .

Unified Carrier Registration (UCR) — Section 390.071 RSMo
 Private and for-hire carriers, brokers, and freight forwarders operation in 
interstate commerce may be required to obtain a unified carrier registration .
   
Intra-state Carriers — Sections 390.051, 390.061, & 390.136 
RSMo
Intra-state carrier fees will be addressed under the Unified Carrier 
Registration (UCR) program .

72-Hour Temporary Permit
    Must accompany vehicle . Any license altered, erased, mutilated, or not 
properly validated shall be deemed void . Telegram service will be provided 
for the $5, 72-hour license ONLY .

Motor Vehicle Lease
    Motor vehicle carriers holding intrastate operating authority shall not 
lease vehicles with or without drivers to shippers or receivers .
    

Address inquiries about for hire transportation 
by motor vehicle to:

MoDOT — Motor Carrier Services
P .O . Box 270

Jefferson City, MO 65109
Phone:  (866)831-6277

32



33



34

Abandoned Vehicle Section 304.155 RSMo — a) Any vehicle left 
unattended on an interstate highway in an urbanized area for 10 hours, 
or immediately if a law enforcement officer determines the property 
is a serious hazard to other motorists (exception: hauling hazardous 
materials) . b) Any vehicle left unattended on a highway outside an 
urbanized area for 24 hours, or immediately if a law enforcement 
officer determines the property is a serious hazard to other motorists 
(exception: hauling hazardous materials) . c) Any vehicle left unattended 
on a state highway in an urbanized area for more than 10 hours . d) 
Any vehicle left unattended on a state highway outside an urbanized 
area for more than 24 hours (exception: hauling hazardous materials) .

Fire Extinguishers — Required equipment on vehicles transporting 
hazardous materials, for hire vehicles, and certain private commercial 
motor vehicles .

Flares — Not required equipment for privately owned passenger 
automobiles .

Fuses — Not required equipment for privately owned passenger 
automobiles .

Litter Law — There are litter signs posted along the highways which 
advise motorists the minimum fine is $25 and the maximum is $500 
for throwing refuse of any kind, nature, or description on the highway . 
This law is enforced — please use the litter basket .

Rest Areas And Roadside Parks — Commercial motor vehicles are 
allowed and drivers are invited to use rest areas and roadside parks in 
Missouri . There are no restrictions which would prohibit units staying 
overnight in these areas .

Passing On Right — Permitted on four lane highways . In no event, on two 
lane highways, will vehicles be driven off the main traveled portion of 
the highways to pass on the right .

Passing — Law requires driver to signal before overtaking and passing . 
A signal by arm and hand or electrical signal required when changing 
lanes or direction .

Turns — Right turns permitted on RED light after stop, except where 
prohibited by signs .
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Studded Tires — Not permitted April 1 to Nov . 1 .

Triangle Reflectors/Warning Devices — Required equipment on vehicles 
transporting hazardous materials, for hire vehicles, and certain private 
commercial motor vehicles . 

Towing (Other Than Trailers)
Motor Vehicles — When being towed, motor vehicles shall not be separated 

by more than 15 feet . When vehicles are being towed at night both 
vehicles shall display lawful lights .

Tow Bars — No regulations (recommended) .

Safety Chains — When using safety chains, sufficient strength to control 
the towed vehicle in the event of failure of the primary coupling device 
is required .

Railroad Crossings — Drivers are required to stop within 50 feet but not 
less than 15 feet of a railroad crossing when an electric or mechanical 
device or a crossing gate is lowered to signal the approach or passage 
of a railroad train .

School Bus Law — Vehicles must stop from either direction when school 
bus is stopped loading or unloading children . (Do not have to stop 
when meeting a school bus on a four lane highway .)

Emergency Vehicle — At the approach of an emergency vehicle displaying 
red or blue lights and siren, vehicles must be driven as far to the right as 
possible and stopped . They must remain stopped until the emergency 
vehicle has passed . When approaching a stationary emergency vehicle 
displaying red, blue, or amber and white lights a driver should proceed 
with caution and yield the right of way by moving into the left lane 
when traveling on a multilane highway, when safe and legal to do so . 
A driver should proceed with caution when changing lanes would be 
unsafe or impossible .
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QUESTIONS?
Missouri Department of Transportation Offices
For the Missouri Department of Transportation nearest you, consult your local phone directory.

CONTACT US.
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Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
3219 Emerald Lane Suite 500
Jefferson City, MO 65109

573-636-3246

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration 
Consumer Complaints Hotline

1-888-368-7238

Emergency Highway Assistance
1-800-525-5555 
or cellular *55

Road Conditions
1-888-275-6636
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Missouri State 
Highway Patrol

* Service Centers

CONTACT INFORMATION

Troop Headquarters Phone Number
A 504 SE Blue Parkway

Lee’s Summit, MO 64063-4351
(816) 622-0800

B 308 Pine Crest Drive
Macon, MO 63552-1030

(660) 385-2132

C 891 Technology Drive 
Weldon Springs, MO 63304

(636) 300-2800

C* P .O . Box 612, 5268 Flat River Road
Park Hills, MO 63601-0612

(573) 431-0166

D 3131 East Kearney
Springfield, MO 65803-5044

(417) 895-6868

D* 5182 South Grand Avenue
Carthage, MO 64836-1484

(417) 359-1500

E 4947 Highway 67 North
Poplar Bluff , MO 63901-8719

(573) 840-9500

E* 105 Keystone Drive
Sikeston, MO 63801-5603

(573) 472-5200

F P .O . Box 568, 2920 North Shamrock 
Rd Jefferson City, MO 65102-0568

(573) 751-1000

G 1226 West Business Hwy U .S . 60-63
Willow Springs, MO 65793 

(417) 469-3121

H 3525 North Belt Highway 
St . Joseph, MO 64506-1370

(816) 387-2345

I P .O . Box 128, 1301 Nagogami Road West
Rolla, MO 65402-0128

(573) 368-2345

39



An Internationally Accredited Agency

SHP-216        01/2024

Published By:
Missouri State Highway Patrol

1510 East Elm Street
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0568

(573) 751-3313

       www .facebook .com/motrooper             mshptrooper     
            @MSHP_CVE   

www .statepatrol .dps .mo .gov        www .mshpcvo .com


